Dr Jane O'Leary

Error message

  • Deprecated function: Array and string offset access syntax with curly braces is deprecated in include_once() (line 20 of /home/cdthrer/public_html/musicresearch.ie/includes/file.phar.inc).
  • Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /home/cdthrer/public_html/musicresearch.ie/includes/common.inc).

Dr Jane O’Leary: BA, MFA, PhD, Honorary DMus

Born in Hartford, Connecticut, Jane O’Leary graduated from Vassar College. She completed a PhD in Music with specialization in composition at Princeton University and in 2007 was awarded an honorary Doctor of Music Degree by the National University of Ireland.

She has been resident in Ireland since 1972, where she has been active as a composer, teacher, music promoter, performer and contemporary music specialist. Jane’s artistic work was acknowledged when she was selected as a founding member of Aosdána, Ireland’s academy of distinguished creative artists. Her music has been performed at international venues including the Kennedy Center, Washington D.C., the Chicago Cultural Center, Carnegie Hall and the Lincoln Center, New York as well as the National Concert Hall Dublin and numerous European festivals and venues.

As founder, director and pianist of the new music ensemble Concorde Jane O’Leary has presented contemporary music and performed with the ensemble throughout Europe and in the USA. She has directed the ensemble since 1976 when it was founded.

Jane is currently a member of Udarás na hOllscoile, NUI Galway; the Board of Directors of The Galway Music Residency; and the Toscaireacht of Aosdána.

Email: concorde[at]eircom.net


Full list of Compositions: http://www.cmc.ie/composers/work.cfm?composerID=95

dreams & prayers. Quartz Music. Paul Roe, clarinet/ConTempo Quartet. Soundshapes II.
Reflections Navona Records. Concorde.
Live @De Toonzaal. Amstel Quartet. Riverrun
Islands: Contemporary Irish Solo and Ensemble Works for Guitar. Overture Music. Laura Chislett, alto flute/John Feeley, guitar. Duo for Alto Flute and Guitar.
Between. Diatribe Recordings. Paul Roe, bass clarinet. a piacere.
Reservoir. Diatribe Recordings. Isabelle O’Connell, piano. Forgotten Worlds.
In the Stillness of Time. Capstone. Concorde/RTE Vanbrugh Quartet/ConTempo Quartet/Garth Knox/Paul Roe/Jane O’Leary. Piano Quintet; a piacere; Why the Hill Sings; In the Stillness of Time; something there; Mystic Play of Shadows.
Celtic Connections. Capstone. Concorde. Silenzio della Terra; Duo for Violin and Cello.

Go to top